Three IPS officers replaced based on adverse inputs, says EC

The Election Commission directed the transfer of three IPS officers in the state on Wednesday. According to a communication to the Tamil Nadu Chief Secretary, with a copy marked to the state Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) the EC stated that IG Central HM Jayaram, IG West Dhinakaran, and SP Rural Coimbatore Arul Arasu will be transferred.

The three officers will be replaced by officers Deepak M Damor, A Amal Raj and Selva Nagarathanam respectively. The EC directed the transfer of the officials “based on adverse inputs,” the statement said. “Jayaram, Dhinakaran and Arul Arasu will be attached to the DGP Headquarters awaiting posting orders” and their posting cannot be done without its permission, the EC said.

Further, the Commission also directed the appointment of A Arun as Police Commissioner of Tiruchirappalli City, a day after it transferred then incumbent J Loganathan. This is a significant move by the EC as the state is ahead of the Assembly polls that is to be held on April 6 in a single phase.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *