Sushil Chandra assumes office as the Chief Election Commissioner

Sushil Chandra IRS has on Tuesday been sworn in as the 24th Chief Election Commissioner(CEC) of India.

The term of the incumbent CEC Sunil Arora ended on Monday following which President Ramnath Kovind appointed the new CEC. Sushil Chandra belongs to the 1980 batch of the Indian Revenue Service and was appointed as the Election Commissioner on February 15, 2019, ahead of the Lok Sabha elections that year. He would be serving as the 24th CEC till MAy 14, 2022.

As the new CEC, Chandra will oversee the completion of the ongoing Assembly elections in West Bengal, where four out of eight rounds of voting has been completed. The final phase will take place on April 29, followed by the counting of votes and declaration of results on May 2.

It is noteworthy that the counting and results for the other 3 states and one Union Territory- Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam and Puducherry is also scheduled on May 2. He will also oversee the forthcoming elections in Uttar Pradesh, Manipur, Goa, Uttarakhand, and Punjab.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *