Polling begins in TN: 13.8% votes polled as of 9 am reports

The polling for Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly began in all 234 constituencies today at 7 am in morning.

Voting continues for 12 hours until 7 p.m.

Voters have been waiting to cast their ballots since early morning in many constituencies. According to the Chief Electoral Officer Stayabrata Sahu, 13.8% of votes have been polled in Tamil Nadu as of the reports at 9 am.

3,998 candidates are contesting in 234 constituencies. 88,937 polling stations were set up to cast votes.

There are 6,28,69,955 voters in Tamil Nadu., out of which, 3,09,23,651 are men, 3,19,39,112 are women and 7,192 were transgender.

1,29,165 voting machines and 91,180 control machines are in use. 1.58 lakh police personnel including paramilitary forces are involved in security duty across Tamil Nadu for the Assembly elections

537 polling stations are marked as extremely tense and 10,813 polling stations as tense by the Election Commission.

A control centre system has been set up to monitor election-related activities at the state level

Additional arrangements at polling stations have been made to prevent the spread of corona infection.

The Election Commission has ordered voters to wear masks while coming to the polling booths.

There will be temperature checks and the voters will be given disposable gloves and sanitisers.

Apart from voter Id, 11 other documents are permitted by the ECI including PAN, Aadhar card, driving license, passport and so on.

Corona patients are allowed to vote in PPE attire from 6pm to 7pm. Voters with temperatures above 98.5 Fahrenheit will be issued a separate token.

Voters with high temperatures are allowed to vote with security equipment from 6pm to 7pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *