Poll margin just 281 votes for BJP

BJP candidate Dr C Saraswathi captured Modakurichi at a slender margin of 281 votes by defeating DMK former minister and senior leader in the party Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan.

BJP candidate Dr. C. Saraswathi, BJP national committee member, contested for the first time. She received 78,125 votes out of a total of 182446 votes recorded. Of these, 472 were postal votes.

DMK candidate Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan received a total of 77,844 votes, including 1,435 postal votes. So, Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan lost the chance to win by just 281 votes.

At the beginning of counting, the DMK was ahead of BJP.

But suddenly the trend was changed and then there was a neck and neck race between two octogenarian candidates.
Finally, Dr. Saraswati won.

She is the only female MLA of Erode district out of 8 MLAs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *