Annual Oration Award given to Dr.Renu Swarup

Avinashilingam Education Trust Institutions and Avinashilingam Institute for Home Science and Higher Education for Women, Coimbatore organized the 19th Dr. Rajammal P. Devadas Annual Oration on 7th April 2021.

The ceremony is held on the 7th April every year to celebrate the birthday of Dr.Rajammal P.Devadas from the year 1999 in which, oration award was first instituted to commemorate Dr.Devadas 80th birthday celebrations.

Dr.Rajammal P. Devadas, Former Chancellor, and first Vice Chancellor of Avinashilingam University for Women was an internationally renowned and acclaimed nutritionist and is considered the Doyen of Nutrition and hence Dr.Rajammal P Devadas Oration Award is awarded every year to recognise an outstanding woman who has served for women welfare and empowerment.

Dr.Renu Swarup, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology was selected for the 19th Annual Oration Award in recognition of service in women empowerment and women health.

The awarding ceremony was presided by Dr.T.S.K. Meenakshisundaram, Managing Trustee, Sri Avinashilingam Education Trust Institutions.

Prof. S.P. Thyagarajan, Chancellor, spoke on the contributions of Dr.Renu Swarap to bring about various policies in DBT (Department of Biotechnology) to benefit women and community.

Dr. Renu Swarup was awarded with the Oration Award and gold medal by Dr. T.S.K. Meenakshisundarm upon the request for awarding by Dr.Premavathy Vijayan, Vice Chancellor of the institute.

Dr.Swarup delivered an Oration Lecture on “New and Emerging Technologies for Food and Nutritional Security” virtually highlighting the technological innovations and interventions from the lab to land towards the second Sustainable Development Goal to end hunger and malnutrition by 2030.

Dr.Gowri Ramakrishnan, Assistant Managing Trustee of the Trust, introduced the award and awardee.

Dr. N. Vasugi, Dean, School of Home Science welcomed the gathering and Dr. S. Kowsalya, Registrar proposed the vote of thanks.

Dr. A. Thirumani Devi, Professor, Department of Food Science and Nutrition was the convener of the Annual Oration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *