AIADMK, DMK cadres sore over party’s decision in Erode East

It is said that both the AIADMK and the DMK cadres were in much distress following allottment of Erode East constituency to their allies -TMC and Congress-, though the segment was the stronghold of both the parties for the past many years and the allies did not have any major base in the segment.

They said that in the last Mayor poll for Erode Corporation held in Oct 2011, Mallika Paramasivam of AIADMK won the post by a margin of over 44000 against her nearest DMK rival Chellaponni Manoharan.

Though former Union Ministers GK Vasan and EVKS Elangovan jointly canvassed for Congress candidate Rajesh Rajappa, he got nearly 7000 votes only.

After 2014 defeat of Congress in the LS poll, GK Vasan relaunched his TMC. So, both Congress and TMC were in weak position in Erode.

Above all, Erode is the traditional seat of AIADMK or DMK only. But, unfortunately, for the first time the allies got the seat, despite they did not have enough cadres to campaign individually, they rued.

The TMC fieled party youth wing president M Yuvaraja, who faced defeat in Erode West as Congress candidates at the hands of KV Ramalingam of ADMK, now.

Congress fielded party state general secretary Thirumagan EVR, son of EVKS Elangovan, who is contesting for first time. In 1980, Congress fielded Sainathan and in 1989, UCPI fielded Stalin Gunasekaran in the segment.

Both contested in Congress Hand symbol and faced defeat. So, after 41 years Congress fielded its candidate now in the segment.

The Erode East constituency covers the entire urban area with having 36 wards in the Corporation.

It is also the smallest one among 8 constituencies in the district.

It focuses on the textile business and the loom industry.

Here the Kongu Vellala Goundars, Mudaliars, minorities are in equal numbers.

It has also considerable number of SCs,Arundhatiars, north Indians and other community people.

So, meeting the business and caste associations in the city can attract the attention of a considerable number of voters.

With this in mind, many in the constituency, including S Muthusamy, the DMK south district secretary, deputy secretary Senthilkumar, and VC Chandrakumar, the joint secretary for propaganda wing, who had contested and lost in the segment in the 2016 assembly elections in the DMK, applied for party ticket.

DMK Deputy General Secretary Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan is also said to have tried hard to get the seat at the last minute as the chances of victory are easy.

Similarly, more than 5 in the AIADMK-sitting MLA KS Thennarasu, Mallika Paramasivam, deputy mayor KC Palanisamy, zonal secretary R Manoharan etc were keen to contest in the seat.

It was clear that the cadres of two major Dravidian parties were upset over giving the high profile segment in the district capital to allies.

In fact TMC sought Erode West seat only for its youth wing secretary Yuvaraja who faced defeat there in 2011 poll in Congress banner and in alliance with DMK.

But, Congress leaders sought Modakurichi, Erode East, Gobi, etc.

After 1980, the Congress is now contest in the Erode constituency, after it was divided into Erode East and Erode West segments.

It is said that the son of former Union Minister EVKS Ilangovan, Thirumagan EVR, is in the fray in the Congress party.

M. Yuvaraja was declared as candidate by TMC for the constituency.

AIADMK and DMK cadres said that their grouse would remain for a few days and that they would likely go ahead with the field work depending on the attitude of the coalition parties.

Meanwhile, KV Ramalingam, a two-time winner of the AIADMK in the Erode West constituency, is entering the fray in the same segment.

He is also the party’s Managar district secretary. Similarly, DMK Erode South District Secretary S. Muthusamy, is contesting against him as in 2016 poll. He lost victory at a margin of less than 5,000 votes.

As the district secretaries of both the parties are contesting directly in the same constituency, there is a situation where the functionaries of both ADMK and DMK in Erode East constituency will go to Erode West constituency to gather votes instead of working for allies in Erode East to expose their dissatisfaction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *