A cakewalk for leftist at Bhavanisagar?

As AIADMK has fielded an unknown party branch secretary Bannari in present poll, who is facing election for the first time in place of sitting MLA S Eswaran , the CPI candidate and ex MLA of the segment in 2011-16 PL Sundaram is getting upper hand in the fray in luring voters

Sathyamangalam constituency became Bhavanisagar (R) constituency in 2011 on restructuring of segments.

It is located not only on the border of Erode district but also on the Tamil Nadu-Karnataka border.

The villages of Karapadi, Kavilpalayam and Varappalayam in the Satyamangalam constituency were relocated to the Gobi constituency.

Gobis located in the eastern part of the constituency, Tiruppur in the south, Mettupalayam in the west and Karnataka in the north.

The Bhavanisagar Dam, the Bannariamman Temple and the Satyamangalam Tiger Reserve, which is home to rare wildlife, are also in the area.

The main professions are agriculture, animal husbandry and weaving.

There are many Kannada speaking people in the hills.

Maize, cassava and mountain vegetables are widely grown in the hilly areas of Talawadi, Kadamboor and Kermalam.
Banana, coriander and umbelliferous flowers are cultivated on thousands of acres in the area.

The constituency has 1,27,274 male voters, 1,32,965 female voters and 10 third genders (total 2,60,249)voters.

Of this, 5 percent of the vote went to the tribal people and 25 percent to the Arundhatiyar people.

Okkiliya Gowda, Nayak and Vettuvagavundars make up 10 per cent of the population. Other ethnic groups make up 40 percent.

Areas covered by the constituency: There are 2 municipalities (Sathyamangalam, Punjaipuliyampatti), 3 municipalities, 3 panchayat unions, 40 village panchayats.

People’s demands :
Setting up of an effluent treatment plant to check mixing of dyeing unit effluents in the Bhavani river which is the base for many drinking water schemes in the district, community certificate for tribals, Government Arts College Students’ Hostel, Government Perfume factory, cold storage unit for processing bananas, widening of the Thimbam mountain pass road to check frequent accidents.

AIADMK candidate S. Eswaran defeated DMK candidate Satya by a margin of 13,104 votes in the 2016 polls.

The DMK has won the last 4 elections in 1967, 1971, 1996 and 2006. AIADMK has won 7 times in 1977, 1980, 1984, 1989, 1991, 2001 and 2016.

In 2011, the Communist Party of India’s Sundaram won in the AIADMK alliance.

Candidates in the field: PL Sundaram – Communist party of India, A. Bannari- AIADMK, G.Ramesh- DMDK K Karthikumar MNM V. Sangeetha- Naam Thamizar C Sakthivel- Bahujan Samaj.

Strength of AIADMK:
Roads and drinking water facilities have been provided in all the panchayats of Bhavanisagar constituency.

A new bridge has been constructed near the Bhavani Sagar Dam at a cost of Rs 8 crore.

Bannari was collecting votes by citing some welfare schemes.

But, he is not much known in the constituency. .

Communist candidate of India PL Sundaram is well acquainted in the constituency.

When he was an MLA in 2011, he arranged old age pension to 30,000 people.

His continuous service in the area and good works as MLA lure many neutral voters also.

In the 2016 polls, he won the seat at a margin of 28,000 votes in the alliance of AIADMK. 2016 poll results: S. Eswaran (AIADMK) – 83,006, A. Satya (DMK) – 69,902, PL Sundaram (Communist Party of India) 27,965.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *