5 AIADMK MLAs denied seats in Erode

Thoppu ND Venkatachalam, Perundurai MLA, who contested and won the constituency in 2011 and 2016 election and who was the Minister of Environment from 2011 to 2016, was not given the opportunity to contest again.

The seat was given to his rival in the party Jayakumar, a supporter of environment minister and party suburban district secretary KC Karupanan.

Venkatachalam went to TTV group and got organising secretary post after the party split.

But, within a few days, he switched loyalty to EPS, OPS group. However, he didn’t have cordial relationship with Karupanan and Education minister KA Sengottaiyan of the District. Due to various allegations,

Anthiyur MLA EMR Raja, Bavanisagar MLA Eswaran and Modakurichi MLA VP Sivasubramani, who won the seat in 2016 poll, were denied seats.

The Modakurichi seat was allotted to BJP. Similarly, Erode East MLA KS Thennarasu, who won the seat in 2016 and 2001, denied seat due to various charges against him.

The seat is expected to be given to alliance party of AIADMK as no candidate was announced for it so far.

Palladam MLA was not given a chance in Tiruppur district.

It has been announced that AIADMK will contest in 7 out of 8 constituencies in Tiruppur district.

Palladam constituency MLA A. Natarajan has been denied the opportunity to contest again.

In the Nilgiris district, the AIADMK had won only from the Coonoor constituency in 2016 poll. Shanthi Ramu, the MLA of the constituency, was not given a chance to contest this time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *