10 ADMK ministers who faced a massive defeat

Key leaders including Jayakumar and Mafoi K Pandiarajan have lost the election this time.

The results on May 2 was a severe blow to the incumbent AIADMK government as many significant faces of the party including top-level ministers faced a massive defeat. The DMK has won 124 seats single-handedly in the pitched battle with the AIADMK.

Ministers of the incumbent cabinet including CM Edappadi Palanisamy, O Panneerselvam, Dr Vijayabhaskar, Sellur Raju, Sengottaiyan and many others have added another feather of victory to their caps. But ten ministers who were leading faces of the party faced a massive defeat this time.

Fisheries Minister D Jayakumar lost his stronghold over Royapuram to DMK candidate R Murthy with a margin of 19,082 votes. Jayakumar has been contesting from Royapuram since 1991 and has been victorious five times. Minister for School Education, Sports and Youth Welfare Benjamin was defeated by DMK’s Ganapathy K by over 31,721 votes in the Maduravoyal constituency.

Rajendra Balaji, Dairy Development Minister lost by a margin of close to 4000 votes to DMK’s Thangapandian S in the Rajapalayam constituency. Tourism Minister Vellamandi Natarajan N lost to DMK leader Inigo Irudayaraj S in the Tiruchirappalli(East) assembly seat with a margin of 21,835 votes. E Raja of DMK defeated Minister for Adi Dravida Welfare VM Rajalakshmi by a margin of 5,354 votes. With this victory, DMK wrested Sankarankovil from the AIADMK, which has been in power there for over 30 years.

KC Veeramani, Commercial Taxes Minister lost to DMK’s K Devaraji by a mere 906 votes in Jolarpet. Veeramani, who won from the same constituency in both 2011 and 2016 lost to the newcomer this time. Law Minister C V Shanmugam lost to DMK’s Lakshmanan in the Villupuram constituency. This constituency was the stronghold of Shanmugam who has been garnering great support there.

But this time the DMK candidate won by a comfortable margin of 13,374 votes. M C Sampath, the Industries Minister lost his election in Cuddalore by a margin of 5,000 votes to DMK’s G Iyappan, who secured 84,563 votes. Mafoi K Pandiarajan lost to DMK’s Nasar SM in Avadi.

The Tamil language and culture minister managed to secure only 31.57% of the votes compared to the DMK candidate’s 49.94%. Transport Minister M R Vijayabhaskar lost to DMK’s Senthil Balaji, who won in the Karur constituency with a comfortable margin of 12,448 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *